The Keith Matthews Award for the Best Book

The Keith Matthews Award (2019) for the best book (2018) on a Canadian maritime topic is presented to Anthony B. Dickinson and Chesley W. Sanger for After the Basques: The Whaling Station of Newfoundland and Labrador,  (DRC Publishing, St.John’s).

The committee believes this book makes a substantial and scholarly contribution to the history of whaling. It also provides important insights to the maritime economy of Atlantic Canada. Congratulations to the authors.